Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award was created to celebrate the very best in crime writing and is open to British and Irish authors whose novels were published in paperback over the previous 12 months.

Along with a £3,000 cash prize, the triumphant crime guru can celebrate their win with a hand-carved Theakstons beer cask provided by Theakstons Old Peculier!

The six shortlisted books for this year are:

Rubbernecker - Belinda Bauer
Dying Fall - Ellie Griffiths
The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter - Malcolm Mackay
The Chess Men - Peter May
The Red Road - Denise Mina
Eleven Days - Stav Sherez

The winner will be selected by an acclaimed panel of authors and industry experts, but the public will also be able to help decide on the winner. So if you have a favourite, head over to the Theakstons website before midnight 15th July to show your support.